#FitMoms Inspo – Mother’s Day Feature

Recently I witnessed my younger sister go through her pregnancy. Her delivery just happened 2 days ago and the images and thoughts of motherhood still remain fresh on my mind.

I remember thinking to myself as I watched her breastfeed the baby for the first time, that the human body is created so amazingly. The body simply adapts itself for purposes of childbearing and posterity. Mothers are undoubtedly the greatest human beings on this planet, the only people who would willingly get out of shape so that you can exist.

But hey, I found that it’s not impossible to get back in shape after having children. Flat tummy, toned arms and legs? #FitMoms aren’t just a figment of my imagination – they are real. Moreover, they are rocking fitness lifestyles and bods that really puts me to shame. I speak to two #FitMoms to find out more about their secret to looking so good even after pregnancy.


#FitMom 1 – Gilliam Giam

Mother of two lovely children, Gasper, 15, and Gwen, 10. If her name rings a bell, it’s because she is also the owner of swing-yoga studio, MotionWerkz. (How amazing is this woman?!)

FB_IMG_1448800357969 copy.jpg

Her fitness journey:

My fitness journey started 8 years ago with Yoga as I was just unhappy with my life and my body. I decided enough was enough and I took responsibility for myself and my life. It was a huge amount of self-discovery and I’ll admit that it was hard. When I made the commitment to go for teacher training, a lot of people thought I was making a mistake, but I didn’t let that stop me. Eventually I discovered swing-yoga and I realised that my own body had certain characteristics. I was more flexible than strong. I started to address that and began to hit the gym. It also became obvious to me that I needed to share swing-yoga with others. Fast forward a few years and now I have my own studio and I regularly run marathons, do Spartan races, and occasional body-sculpting competition. It’s all fun, and I cherish everything.

20160423_104331

Does being a mom change your fitness routine in any way?

Being a mom is a fully-time job in itself, but that’s no excuse for finding time to take care of oneself. A fit mom is a better mom, and to be great, one has to be sharp in mind and body.

What/Who inspires you to be fit?

There are many external “inspirations” to be fit. Validation can come from others but ultimately, I do it for myself. I want to be a person that my loved ones look up to (e.g. my kids), and I find much value in sharing my outlook and positivity with others. It’s important that one finds the “internal” motivation and fitness is a self-feeding positive cycle!

What are some challenges you face on this journey?

People, even well meaning, often judge. They may be clouded by their own biases of what a mother, or woman, or femininity, or whatever… should be. In the end, it’s important to understand yourself and believe in what you can do. Then, those challenges can melt away and you will be amazed at what a person with conviction can do. Find the time. Commit to the effort, and let the process reveal the true you.

What do you like to do when you’re not exercising?

Exercising provides a useful balance to life. It’s cleansing and liberating. So when I am not exercising, I love to enjoy the clarity of my thinking. I think about how to lead a better life, how to build a rewarding business, how to improve myself and my influence, and of course, I am committed to having fun doing all of that. And I do! Activities range from taking my kids out, to hanging with good friends, to learning new hobbies (I was recently certified to rock climb), to travelling and even cooking.

What’s your biggest gym pet peeve?

After I broke my femur last year, it has been harder to do leg and butt workouts. But perhaps the most annoying thing is being gawked at in the gym by others not used to seeing a fit and determined woman.

What is your favourite guilty pleasure?

Sometimes lying around and doing nothing is a great pleasure. Because i lead such a busy life, its important to have some balance and occasionally do nothing. Cynics might call it day-dreaming, but some of my best ideas have come about while lazing about.

Which candy can you not live without?

Peanut M&Ms!!

Is there anything you would like to share with the rest of the mothers out there?

After each of my kids, I ballooned to 83 kilos. Don’t wait until your health fails to start. It’s never too late, you are never too old, you are never too frail. Educate yourself and don’t listen to myths or naysayers. Start a positive and fit lifestyle now. You can do it!


#FitMom 2 – Loretta Low

Mother of 2 active and energetic boys, ages 6 and 3. Number 3 is on the way!

IMG1774.JPG

Her fitness journey:

I started off as a fitness enthusiast 11 years back, that is how long my fitness journey has been. I personally enjoy strength movements and outdoor long distance running as part of my fitness routine.

Does being a mom change your fitness routine in any way?

It definitely does! As a stay-home mom, my fitness routine evolves around my daily routine. I get my daily snippets of movements while at the playground or at home, and long runs will be with a stroller no doubt. Grabbing an opportunity to hit the community gym has become a luxury me-time, haha..

What/Who inspires you to be fit?

The science behind exercise movements triggers my desire to keep learning. It drives me to set fitness goals and to achieve them.

IMG2078What are some challenges you face on this journey?

Since becoming a mom, sleep has never been the same.

What do you like to do when you’re not exercising?

I enjoy watching the boys play together.

What is your favourite guilty pleasure?

At the moment, it is really sleeping in. Hahaha…

Which candy can you not live without?

Not a fan of candy, so that’s not difficult. (Lucky you!)

Is there anything you would like to share with the rest of the mothers out there?

Fitness is not all about weight loss or to look good, fitness is a lifestyle.


If these moms have no trouble keeping fit, what excuse have you? Who is your #FitMom inspo? Share with us and tag them – show them some love and appreciation this Mother’s Day!

BRB, off to the gym to shed off the guilt now.

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

